Richard H. Stanley

Richard H. Stanley

Richard H. Stanley is a professional engineer, businessman, and world citizen. He has earned engineering degrees from Iowa State University and the University of Iowa. Mr. Stanley is Chair and President of the Stanley Foundation, and Chair and past President of the Stanley Group. He is retired Vice-Chair of the Board of the HNI Corporation and has served on the board of directors of several for-profit and nonprofit organizations.

As Chair and President of the Stanley Foundation, he oversees a private operating foundation directed toward achieving a secure peace with freedom and justice, built on world citizenship and effective global governance. This is advanced through policy analysis and conference dialogue, and through communication and outreach initiatives. In conjunction with foundation work, he has received the Harry S. Truman Distinguished Service Award from the American Association of Community Colleges and the Award for Citizen Diplomacy from the National Council for International Visitors.

As a professional engineer, Mr. Stanley has spent his entire career with Stanley Consultants, Inc., which provides engineering and related services worldwide. He has served as Chair of the American Council of Engineering Companies, President of the Iowa Engineering Society, President of the American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa, Chair of the National Construction Industry Council, and Chair of the Northeast-Midwest Institute.

A native of Muscatine, Iowa, Mr. Stanley's commitment to his hometown has included serving as Director and Founding Chair of Unity HealthCare, the community's vertically integrated healthcare provider, and serving as the first President of the Board of Eastern Iowa Community College. He is President and Director of the Muscatine Health Support Foundation, which supports the development of the Muscatine area healthcare system, and has been involved in numerous other church, community, and civic activities.

Mr. Stanley has been awarded the Hoover Medal by the Hoover Medal Board of Award; the Distinguished Award of Merit from the American Council of Engineering Companies; the Anson Marston Medal from the College of Engineering of Iowa State University; the Herbert Hoover Centennial Award from the Iowa Engineering Society; and has been inducted into the University of Iowa College of Engineering Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy.